GSM Cells in Vienna, 2002 A.D.

17Apr08

After my previous post on OpenCellID I dug up some old work of mine which I did back in 2002: I collected GSM signal power measurements (cell ID and RXLEV values) across Vienna’s inner city district for my master’s thesis. The goal was to assess the potential accuracy that could be reached for mobile positioning based on cell IDs of serving and neighbouring GSM cells.

Back then, it wasn’t possible to get to this kind of data from inside the phone (i.e. with a do-it-yourself app installed on the phone), so I collected the measurements with an old (well… not at that time) Siemens S45, attached to a Notebook via a serial cable, using AT commands.

And we also didn’t have any of those fancy digital globes that they make nowadays, so I could only visualize my results in static images. But since this is the year 2008 now I thought I’d take some of those old graphics and stick them in a Google Earth overlay.

The cells shown in the overlay have, most likely, long ceased to exist. Therefore the data isn’t of any practical value anymore (e.g. for use with OpenCellID). But the images do at least give some approximate insight into what GSM cells in urban areas look like – and they remind of my time as a student of course 😉



One Response to “GSM Cells in Vienna, 2002 A.D.”

  1. My family members every time say that I am killing my time here at web, however I know I am getting familiarity daily
    by reading thes pleasant posts.


Leave a Reply

