More on the Google Earth API

08Jan07

One should always remember to search the Web before blogging about a topic 😉 As it turns out, Google has in fact already released the Google Earth COM API. The API allows 3rd party applications to remote control GE’s camera view, open KML files, take screenshots, convert (tada!) screen coordinates to geographical coordinates and so on. Google has apparently used the same API for the Picasa geotagging feature.

My C++ development know-how is limited to a few ActiveX controls on Windows Mobile, so I haven’t yet figured out whether it is possible to listen for mouse events. But it might be as easy as registering your application for the appropriate window messages.

Anyways, the COM API is definitely an exciting step in the right direction. Personally, however, I would like to see something that’s easier to handle, and which would potentially appeal to a broader audience – like a KML JavaScript API! But who knows – Google might have this up their sleeve already, anyway. And if not: come on MS, give us a reason to switch to Virtual Earth 3D 😉

UPDATE: Well, it took some time. But finally Google has made my wish come true (more than a year after I wrote this post 😉 )



26 Responses to “More on the Google Earth API”

  1. Com API is very easy to handle out of an environment like the .NET Compact Framework. All you do is import the COM object into VS and it generates a lot of simple-to-understand COM wrappers that you can use straight off. To get started, try automating an Office application like Word. Good luck!

  2. Thanks for the hint! Being an old Java-head, my C# skills are a lot better developed than my C++ skills. Having the GE COM object wrapped in .NET will definitely make things easier for me 🙂

  3. 3 jack

    How can I add ge api in .net?

  4. Jack,

    see Dmitri’s response above for instructions!

    Cheers, Rainer

  5. 5 Dave

    Jack,

    If you are using Windows, you may have to run this before the API classes become available:

    “C:\Program Files\Google\Google Earth\googleearth.exe” /RegServer

    (assuming you installed GE to the default path – change as needed)

    Then you should be able to go to project->add reference (COM tab) and add a reference to the Google Earth 1.0 Type Library. API classes will then be accessible through the EarthLib namespace in your project.

    Hope that helps 🙂

    Dave

  6. I will not debate with your endings because I think you’re exact on the money! You have put together a valid case for your opinions and now I know more about this unique topic. Gives Thanks for this impressive post and i will come back for more.

  7. 7 Imran

    Bangladesh has a modern polytechnic institute. It’s name is Bogra Polytechnic Institute, Bogra, Bangladesh.
    Please add the polytechnic in your google earth map.

  8. 8 site

    Even though I actually like this post, I think there was an spelling error close towards the finish of the third sentence.

  9. I tried looking at your site on my blackberry and the structure doesnt seem to be right. Might wanna check it out on WAP as well as it seems most cellular phone layouts are not really working with your website.

  10. The look for the web site is a little bit off in Epiphany. Even So I like your web site. I may have to install a normal web browser just to enjoy it.

  11. If you could message me with some hints about how you made this blog site look this cool, Id appreciate it!

  12. If you could message me with a few hints & tips about how you made your website look this awesome , Id appreciate it!

  13. 13 account

    Cool post ! Thank you for, commenting on this blog page man. I shall message you again. I did not know that!

  14. It looks to me that this website doesnt load in a Motorola Droid. Are other people having the same problem? I enjoy this blog and dont want to have to miss it whenever Im away from my computer.

  15. Re: Whomever made the remark that this was an excellent internet site truly needs to get their head evaluated.

  16. Jesus Christ theres plenty of spammy feedback on this webpage. Have you at any time believed about trying to get rid of them or installing a extension?

  17. Nice post ! Thanks for, visiting my blog page man. I shall email you some time! I did not know that.

  18. 18 buy fridge freezer

    Is it alright to insert a portion of this on my blog if perhaps I submit a reference point to this web page?

  19. Please message me with some hints & tips on how you made your blog site look this awesome, Id appreciate it.

  20. How come you do not have your website viewable in mobile format? Can not view anything in my phone.

  21. Whilst I genuinely like this publish, I believe there was an spelling error close to the finish with the 3rd paragraph.

  22. When I start your Rss feed it seems to be a lot of garbage, is the problem on my part?

  23. Im getting a small issue. I cant get my reader to pick up your feed, Im using msn reader by the way.

  24. Have you considered including several social bookmarking buttons to these blogs. At the very least for youtube.

  25. Whilst I truly like this publish, I think there was an spelling error near to the finish from the third paragraph.

  26. I think one of your current ads caused my web browser to resize, you may well need to put that on your blacklist.



